What is the RPTP?

    Otago Regional Council (ORC), together with its partner agencies including Dunedin City Council, Queenstown Lakes District Council, Central Otago District Council, Clutha District Council and Waitaki District Council, as well as Waka Kotahi, has prepared this Regional Public Transport Plan (RPTP). It sets out the objectives and policies for delivering public transport in Dunedin, Wakatipu and the wider Otago Region over the next 10 years, 2021 to 2031. It is a strategic document that will direct ORC’s focus and investment over the coming decade and provide clear direction on how to respond to future challenges and opportunities.

    This RPTP describes the proposed public transport services that will meet the needs of new and existing customers and the policies which those services will operate under. It also explains how ORC will work in partnership with operators and city and district councils in Otago, known as territorial authorities.

    This draft RPTP replaces the Otago RPTP (2014-21).

    The RPTP is required by legislation under the Land Transport Management Act (LTMA) 2003 . The LTMA provides detail on the statutory requirements that must be followed when preparing an RPTP. 

    How does it fit in with other plans?

    This handy diagram shows how the RPTP fits in with other plans. 

    Who else was involved in the drafting of this plan?

    This RPTP has been prepared in collaboration with:

    • the territorial authorities in Otago; 
    • Dunedin City Council (DCC), Queenstown Lakes District Council (QLDC), Central Otago District Council (CODC), Clutha District Council (CDC) and Waitaki District Council (WDC).
    • Waka Kotahi, the NZ Transport Agency,
    • Transport partnerships including Connecting Dunedin and Way To Go;
    • Otago’s public transport operators and small passenger vehicle companies; and
    • Stakeholders, including a range of community and disability groups to ensure that we have perspectives from those who are often most reliant on public transport. They are (in alphabetical order)
    • Anglican Family Care
    • Arrowtown Village Association 
    • Blind Citizens Otago
    • Blind Low Vision
    • Bus User Support Group Otepoti (Bus Go)
    • Central Otago District Council
    • Clutha District Council
    • Destination Queenstown
    • Disability Information Services
    • Dunedin City Council
    • Frankton Community Association
    • Grey Power Dunedin 
    • Jacks Point Residents Association
    • Otago Chamber of Commerce
    • Otago Deaf Society
    • Otago Peninsula Community Board
    • Otago University Students Association (OUSA)
    • Queenstown Lakes District Council
    • South Dunedin Community Network 
    • Spokes
    • The Disabled Persons Assembly
    • Trails Trust
    • Waikouaiti Community Board
    • Waitaki District Council
    • Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency
    • West Harbour Community Board

    When does the consultation end?

    All submissions must be received at the Otago Regional Council by 12 pm, Monday 24th May 2021

    Do I have to come and speak at the hearing of submissions?

    You are welcome to attend a hearing to speak. If you decide not to attend the hearing of submissions, your written submission will be given full consideration.

    Submitters wishing to speak in support of their submission should indicate this on their submission. 

    Hearing dates and locations are yet to be confirmed at this time.

    When will the hearings be?

    Hearings will take place from week commencing 31 May, 2021.

    What happens after the hearing?

    All submissions will be acknowledged, and the final decision will be communicated to the submitter in writing. 

    Copies of the final document will be available on regional council websites in 2021.